Posted on

The Psammead Trilogy by Edith Nesbit

Psammead Trilogy Edith Nesbit

The Psammead Trilogy, written at the beginning of the twentieth century by Edith Nesbit, is a classic of all times that you shouldn’t miss. The story begins with Five Children and It, and continues with The Phoenix and the Carpet and The Story of the Amulet. Read them all and meet this amazing storyteller who inspired other big fantasy writers such as C.S. Lewis and J.K. Rowling. By the end of the book, find after reading activities to keep on having a great time with the story and your imagination.

Find paperback copies of the 3 books in our Shop.

Five Children and It

Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and their baby brother, the Lamb, never thought that spending the summer in the countryside would be such an incredible experience. You don’t find a wish granting sand fairy every day, do you? That’s exactly what happens to these children during their holidays. Digging in a sand pit, they discover the Psammead, a grumpy magical creature who has the power to make their wishes come true. However, no matter how hard they try to think of the perfect wish, things never seem to turn out as they expected. A magical story, full of adventure and fun, that you’ll never forget.

The Phoenix and the Carpet

After an incredible summer in the countryside with the Psammead, Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and their baby brother, the Lamb, thought that spending the winter in the city, all by themselves, would be a real bore. But they were wrong. The fun starts when the children find a mysterious egg inside a rolled carpet that their mum bought at a second-hand shop. The egg cracks into an ancient Phoenix, a beautiful bird with a singular personality. This exotic creature reveals that the carpet has magic powers. It can grant the children three wishes a day and transport them anywhere they want. Who would get bored hanging out with an eccentric Phoenix and riding on a magic carpet? Join the children in their new adventure and enjoy this amusing story..

The Story of the Amulet

The last time Cyril, Anthea, Robert and Jane saw the Psammead, they promised not to ask it any further wishes. All they hoped for was to see it again, one more time. And this moment has come. On their way to St James’s Park, the children find the Psammead captive in a cage at a shop that sells all sorts of merchandise. They manage to rescue their old friend and they all embark together in a new adventure by means of an amulet —half of it— that the children buy at the shop, following the Psammead’s advice. In order to find the other half of this wish-granting amulet, the children and the Psammead go on incredible trips through time and place, visiting ancient civilizations and meeting famous historical figures. However, getting hold of the missing part is not as easy as they’d thought. Going back and forth in time, dealing with countless hazards, will they finally make it and get back home safe?